Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Red Admiral ?

From the Mighty stag to the miniscule butterfly in one day!

Can't believe the butterflies are in the garden at last . The rain has battered the buddlia bushes so much I thought I'd not see any butterflies this summer. I bought a butterfly box and set it out yesterday , don't know if that has encouraged the butterflies so soon, just delighted to finally get a chance to see some.

I think this is a red admiral , there were two on the flowers by the pond and off course they just had to be in the most awkward spot so I had to put on my wellies and go in the pond to get a shot . Just hope any dragon fly eggs are on the plants round the edge and that I haven't damaged any ( the web site for pond plants sold them as plants where dragon flies lay eggs - do you think this is a con or will they lay them there?) .

Got an email from a friend telling me there are Scottish Argus butterflies behind Carnassarie castle. Guess where I am going tomorrow before my accordion lesson if it's sunny !

I think LARGE might be worth a look if you have time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.