Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Biscuit mountain

One of the traditions in the Music Group is that we bring along a pack of biscuits or suchlike as a thank you gesture for the host of the day. Back in the early days of the group when numbers were higher than they are now, things got so out of hand that the hosts (two of the founding fathers alternated hosting at that time) often declared a biscuit moratorium. That hasn't happened recently, even though the biscuit pile can still be substantial when the visitors have been and gone.

I was host today. Even though the visitors will come bearing biscuits, I always like to have a starter selection ready laid out to begin with. Numbers were high today (ten of us all told), so I won't need to buy biscuits again for a while. Thanks, lads (and a special thank you to whoever brought the Cranberry & Orange Cookies).

I wasn't feeling the full shilling because of the post-injection business, and actually toyed with the idea last night of canceling my hosting. I'm glad I didn't. Music selection were fascinating today, there was a terrific atmosphere, and we had a great time. I actual managed to get some of the cleaning and tidying done last night, so it wasn't such a mad rush today as it often can be to make the house presentable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.