Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Damaged

The after-effects of my monthly hormone injections aren't usually too bad. There's a bit of discomfort for 36 hours or so afterwards, but that's about it. This time was unusual. Even the next day I felt much more discomfort than usual, and things came to a head last night when I took a closer look and saw a rather large swelling and a really nasty bruise. So I phoned the doctor and arranged for him to take a look.

He reassured me that it wasn't anything worse than a local complication, most probably caused by his having hit a blood vessel while giving the injection. His first concern was that a generalised reaction would have consequences for future treatment. There was nothing much that could be done to clear things up, apart from his prescribing a cream for me to rub in. Apart from that, the normal healing process should get things back to normal. Let's hope this is a once-off. This experience wasn't at all nice.

I'd noticed this abandoned child's scooter as I walked up to the surgery. It was still there on the way back, and I took a notion that it was as damaged as I was - though, fortunately, nobody had thrown me aside as irretrievably damaged.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.