Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Budding Artist

What a miserable day. Where has summer gone? Hopefully the sun will be shining in the south of Spain next week.

Spent the afternoon at the Lister for a blood test for me and pre-admission clinic for Will. I love the NHS, don't get me wrong but what a waste of time. Firstly he was supposed to be having the op on Monday, but we are away. Don't worry we were told they'll give you an appointment at clinic. So today I was told, 'We don't give out the dates, you have to ring this number between 10am and 3pm.' It was already after 3pm.

Secondly I mentioned him having a possible delayed reaction to ametop and emela cream (as Carys and I have this issue). The nurse looked at me as if I was mad and said 'He'll be having a general anaesthetic.' When I pointed out that I presumed that he would need a venflon inserting she ignored me. I can only hope that she doesn't deal with kids normally and therefore has no idea about pain management in them, because he will not be having venflons or bloods taken without some local anaesthetic. Then she proceeded to ask if he had had a GA for the division of his tongue tie and looked horrified when I said he had nothing because at the age it was done it didn't require anything. Give me strength.

Then we went to the Health Vistors clinic as I am worried about his lack of words. Mostly he communicates through sounds and signs, but I thought I ought to flag up my concerns officially. They are referring him for a hearing test incase he has glue ear! All of this despite me saying that his hearing is fine, as is all his other development, she kept banging on about his hearing being possibly affected when his tonsils flare up. They don't flare up, he has had one bout of tonsillitis, he is having the Adenoidtonsillectomy because he has sleep apnoea. Would they listen...no, all I wanted was a speech therapy referral, did I get one...no.

|Head meet wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.