Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Don't go into the Wild Wood

It felt very autumnal today and the wood that I sometimes walk through to get down to the High Street, looked very unappealing. Don't know why but today's blip was inspired by me thinking about the Wind in the Willows this morning for some reason. The great children's book about Ratty, Mole, Badger and Mr Toad, is one of the earliest books that I can remember reading.

Just thinking about the wild wood makes me think of my reckless youth, walking through a wild wood at night held no fear. Nowadays I wouldn't even contemplate it, its strange how the older you get, the more nervous or suspicious you are of things. Or should that be wiser? I think you get the gist of what I'm trying to say.

It's hard to believe we are still in August at the moment, it's been very cold and damp today, and you had to wear a proper jacket. Well across the bridge you had to, it would appear in South West Wales things were completely different. Booked some more holidays today in the hope that I can get some decent weather during my break, I don't hold out much hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.