Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Burlington Arcade

I had to go to Hyde Park Corner today to pick something up as a favour for my brother-in-law. As he lives in the Lake District it was infinitely easier for me to pick up his item (a box of Leica lenses......) than it was for him. He is swearing eternal gratitude and has promised to buy me copious pints. What he doesn't realise is that, these days, anything out of the ordinary is great as it provides........yes, that's right, blip opportunities!!

This is Burlington Arcade, one of the world's first shopping malls. It opened in 1819 and was apparently built by the younger brother of the 5th Duke of Devonshire who lived next door. He built it to stop ruffians throwing rubbish, such as oyster shells, into his garden. I wish I had his forethought - I am sick of clearing oyster shells out of my garden.

According to laws still in existence it is against the law to sing, whistle, carry large parcels, open umbrellas or hurry in the Arcade. Guards, dressed in top hats and frock coats, and calling themselves Beadles, still stand at either end to this day to make sure that you don't transgress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.