Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Radon Detectors

There's a really good practical reason for this blip. Today, through the post, I received these two little doofers, which are, apparently, radon detectors - according to a letter we received a while ago from the council, we live in a radon risk area, so we're eligible to have radon detectors for free, which I must post back for analysis in 3 months time!

So, when, in around 3 months time, I wonder what day they arrived, I can look at my blips - handy!

In fact, I use my blipfoto journal to remember what I was doing on various days quite a lot - it's very useful!!!

So, what have I done today?

First of all, I failed to go swimming - I put the bag in the car, and fully intended to swim, but forgot my towel. It was too cold to drip dry or to drive home wet, so no swim this morning. My brain is a bit overloaded at the moment, so it does seem to be forgetting things from time to time.

I did a bit more housework and a few jobs this morning, and spoke on the phone to both Scharwenka and the Wonderspouse, trying to decide whether to go to the Proms this weekend. In the end, we decided that we were all simply too tired and frazzled, and needed some rest, early nights, and couldn't actually manage all the driving, standing through concerts, and arriving home late at night.

It's a shame, but that's the way things go sometimes.

By the time I'd finished sorting that lot out, I had just a bit of time left at home. I used some of it unpacking my mini steps, which finally arrived, just 2 months after I ordered them (and mean that I won't have to stand on my swivel chair to clean the top of the rat cage any more, and lessen my risk of falling off and injuring myself significantly).

I used some of it to surf The Baking Bird's website, which is now live. I managed to make myself very hungry!

And I used the rest of it to play my viola - about the only really constructive thing I AM capable of doing when my brain is on holiday!

Then I went to Scharwenka's for the afternoon, where I had lunch and did some hedge trimming as well as just catching up on life!

And then the Wonderspouse arrived. He was too tired even to go shopping, so we came straight home. Now an evening on the sofas in front of the telly beckons.

Peaceful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.