The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Not Quite A Gorilla ...

But I've just had an Attenborough moment in the back garden ...

Okay, it is not a gorilla on a Rwandan hillside ...

They aren't gone to make a documentary about this little critter ...

But I have just shared ten fantastic minutes feeding this baby hedgehog.

I was wondering what to blip tonight. I had an idea, but then frustration took hold when I couldn't find my Gorillapod! Then I clocked there was a hedgehog on the lawn, I realised it was one of this years young.

I only had the short lens on the camera, so I quietly sat on the step. He/she seemed quite un-bothered by me. So I crept back down to the kitchen and got him some mealy worms and some peanuts. His/her little snout did a little dance when I put them down gently on the stone in front of him/her. Normally at this point they make a dash for the nearest bush, but clearly this one was full of the bravado of youth, and came forward and started munching away.

I lay there on the path, no more than a couple of feet away. I could hear every snuffle, every crunch of every peanut. It was absolutely brilliant. I took a couple of photos, talking gently to her/him .. the hedgehog didn't even flinch!

So I just lay there, drinking in the experience for another ten minutes, hardly moving, breathing quietly. And then he/she got bored, and bum went numb, and we parted ways.

I have put a bit more food and water out for the little mite. So glad our resident hedgehogs got a successful litter. Hopefully they will fatten up over the coming months now, and we won't have a silly winter like last year.

Once again, when you struggle for a blip, nature provides!

Here's a a wider angle shot of the hedgehog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.