Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

"What's that?" Closer inspection, and thoughts of, "must get some glasses soon."

"Looks like a little scab, from a cut or something. Wait a minute," recalling where most of yesterday was spent. "Hope that's not a... Argh! You SWINE!"

A Tick nymph. Just to give you a scale on the culprit's size, the markings on that ruler are for millimetres. So it's barely the size of a pinhead. 'Scuse the piece of dust.

I really, REALLY, hate ticks. Especially after picking up at least forty of the "little blighters" (polite version) on Ulva, a small island by Mull, on the West coast. Cut that holiday short, as I thought better of spending another night in that tent. Both it, and my sleeping bag, were covered in many more of them.

Thankfully, this one easily pulled straight out. But somewhat worryingly, to me, it seemed to be dead. Perhaps my blood poisoned it... steady with those remarks/comments! Hope it hasn't poisoned me. Have kept it in a (well) sealed container.

More information about them, and how to deal with them, here. This is at least the sixth one I've found this year. Half of those were found before they'd bitten me, by checking for them, after being in likely places to pick them up.

This was one occasion when the little old waterproof Pentax point-and-shoot camera, very easily beat a DSLR fitted with a macro lens. And that DSLR had twice as many pixels too.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.