Maastricht

Backblip

Another trip over the border. The Johnson boys hit the CD shops. Meeta and the teenagers hit the sales. Terry, Fiona and George ate fritjes. Marc raided the bookshops. The rest of us wandered the streets, admiring the architecture and baking in the sun.

When we got back to Teuven, I decided to walk to a beautiful Castle that I'd seen from the car earlier in the week. The walk was through beautiful forest and up and down hills. I took a few shots, not noticing that the sky behind me had turned pitch black. Suddenly it was thunder and lightning, wind and a deluge of rain. I got into the woods, and through them along the paths without really getting too wet. As I walked back to the village, Bart and Meles picked me up in a car, having been a bit worried about the ferocity of the storm. I was fine, of course, and just thinking that it would probably make a faintly amusing anecdote here: "Huh! The things we do for a blip!"
It wasn't until we got back to a computer the next day that we discovered what had happened in Hasselt only a short distance away.
The storm later that night did dump about 5 cm of water into the ground floor of the wee house we were staying in...completely soaking the girls' beds.
Not a very comfortable end to their holiday, but they were very stoic about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.