An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Transition...

Autumn is a'comin'!

Today, when I opened the front door and stepped out into the new morning, there was no mistaking the change in the scent of the air....I caught a quick whiff of the unmistakable scent of Autumn.

It is a very subtle and beautiful fragrance and for me it marks the end of the eternal hope that summer is still to come to this part of Scotland (I really do believe we have our summer in April here now).

It's a scent that fills me with the acceptance that one season is ending and turns my thoughts to looking forward to the new season approaching and Autumn is truly one of my favourite seasons.

Apart from the wonderful colour and beauty it brings, Autum for me represents the thought of slowing down the pace of life a bit, gradually having less and less to do in the garden, cosy evenings in with bowls of homemade soup and not feeling guilty about coming in from work and having a coffee and sitting reading a book for a little while (or these days spending time on blip!)

A mellow season (hopefully) that still gives us beautiful days and ripening berries, opportunities to be outside without getting melted (chance would be a fine thing!) or soaked. I really do love it!

Of course, for all you lucky people down south who are still enjoying summer weather, this will seem like a strange blip! LOL! But whilst you're rinsing off the suncream, I'll be looking out my recipe for curried butternut squash soup! :)))

Happy Tuesday Peeps :)) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.