Off Centre

By RachelCarter

What A Drag

Today has been a day of getting through.
Firstly a slight hangover in the morning, then plodding through 5 loads of washing, vacuuming, tidying, juggling the comings and goings of the family with meal times (unsuccessfully), and dealing with an evening grocery delivery.

I forgot to order coffee.

I love coffee. The smell of coffee gets me out of bed in the morning. To open the kitchen drawer just now and see there was no coffee for the morning perturbed me a little. So I looked into the coffee grinder and found there was a handful of beans in there. I love the smell of coffee beans. Did I tell you that? I held the beans in my hand and thanked them for making it possible for tomorrow to start. And then I saw the black lines. Where the coffee pot has been dragged back and forth across the work surface day after day after day has made permanent marks on the wood. I expect I could scrub and then re-oil the wood. But wouldn't it be a drag - and they'd only come back. Life's too short.

Oh - and I found a camera that we bought a few years ago. So that's good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.