Freedom!

I'd expected to be in hospital till Wednesday at least, but when the surgeon does his rounds, he tells me I'm well enough to go home. Result!

My ward companions, all a fair bit older than me, have been most agreeable company. Of the three, the 79-year-old guy in particular would put most of us to shame. If he hadn't been in hospital, he'd probably have been working for one of two charities, sailing his boat, or doing a presentation on impressionist art. And a very nice feller, to boot.

This piece of sleek technology was a rather less delightful companion. A fiver a day to watch telly, a squillion quid-a-minute for the phone, and of course t'internet is too slow and expensive to really enjoy blip. And I won't miss it bursting into noisy life at 8am every morning, either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.