Eyelash Moments

By eyelashmoments

Trying a New Coffeeshop

I am still mourning the loss of my favorite coffeeshop for writing. They had to close their doors in spring and so far, I have not been able to find a suitable replacement. I'm starting to think that Panera is looking better and better, although, as much as I love Panera, I have always enjoyed writing in locally owned coffeeshops.

The coffeeshop I used to write in (and do my homework in, and meet my good friend Ari in) had to close earlier this spring after a plumbing problem. Winter was hard for them. We had a lot of snow and as their coffeeshop only has street side parking available it made it difficult for people to visit. Because of this, the owner lacked the funds to fix the expensive repair.

New owners opened a café at the end of the semester so Ari and I made a visit to check it out. It is now half the size (the other half is a vintage store) so there is no quiet section to retreat to. After that visit, I was on the lookout for a new coffeeshop!

I met a friend at a nearby coffeeshop. I was excited at the thought that this could be my new writing location. It's less than a five minute drive from my house so it would be convenient. But after spending some time there I discovered that it's too loud and more of a sandwich shop than a coffeeshop. It's not that I mind my coffeeshops serving sandwiches (it's better for those long days of writing) but just not what I had been hoping for. I probably won't be returning.

And my search for a new coffeeshop continues!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.