horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Dan the Man

This, ladies and gentlemen, is the Fringe. Forget £17 a ticket for Rich Hall (that's tomorrow/Friday night); this was free. And worth every penny. Seriously, I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Folks, the players of Let's Do It, thank you.

It had been an odd night. Wine tasting starting at work at 6.30, the peopel I was meeting being a good 15 minutes late, meaning I was sat as Billy-no-mates for that time as all other tables were colonised by groups of people who clearly knew each other. But arrive they finally did, and at the end of the night with the promise of salsa dancing at La Tasca we (five of us) headed to the Point Hotel and its once-a-month bar (allegedly) at the top floor. Yes, the logic escaped me.

And just as last orders were 'announced' (someone came round informing us, ringing bells are so passé/lower class) a young chap sat down with us (a remaining three after one of the party received a better offer and another helped here into the lift them promptly disappeared given she was frankly having trouble standing) and let us know of the Let's Do It show - a musical cabaret to 'sit back, unwind and transport yourself to a New York piano bar...' to.

Sod it. Why not. Except save for friends of the case, and two other people who arrived, we were the only audience. Then one of our party had to go. Then another. Then the other two who had appeared. I was... an audience of one. True there were some friends of the performers, but truly, t'was but I in the stands. However. I had a great night, entertained by some talented singing (not only by Mr Dan Hyde who lead the show and had been the first person to approach us in the bar 19 floors above) and generally pleased that no-one else was there. Because it became a relaxed and (their own words) indulgent show thereafter. It felt like I'd stumbled upon a student party with some particularly talented musicians.

It reminded me of the days when I was writing a musical with my supremely-operatically-talented friend Karen (who IS now a proper opera type person in that-London - I was writing the words, she the music) and spurred me on to finish the 'Houseboat on the Styx' stage adaptation. Dahlinks it'll be fab.

So thank you 'About Turn' productions, and everyone involved, especially Dan who, with one night to go could simply have thought 'to hell with this'. Thank you to the two girls whose names I can't remember, who both sang superbly, who chatted with me. And thank you to the pianist whose last night it apparently was (with one show to go). Honestly guys, loved it.

(taxi home, keys left in office, doorbell, wake Mel).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.