Et Aetatis

By Biota

Don't Be Afraid of Friday

Went to see Don't Be Afraid of the Dark today with Jess and Dave--my first horror movie in a theater! I've gotten so much better with facing my fears. Plus it's always convenient when I can latch onto Jess' arm. There were semi-pee-myself-with-fright moments, but unlike The Grudge, it's not one of those movies that causes you to be scared for long after the movie is over. Thankfully. But I suppose that remains to be seen.

A more pressing concern than little fairy gremlins getting me in my sleep is Hurricane Irene. I'm particularly worried about friends on the coast near the Carolinas. My school's move-in schedule has been shifted to allow for minimal travel on Sunday, and classes have been canceled Monday. While I feel relatively safe being so far inland, you never really know, especially since Connecticut doesn't generally experience hurricanes. Which is why I feel like a lot of individuals my age don't truly realize the impact of a natural disaster. We all heard of the earthquake in Haiti and the tsunami in Japan, but those places are far away, and it's difficult to emotionally connect to that happening unless you've experienced it. But to all those people whose Facebook statuses are "Irene can bring it" and similar taunts...It's called a hurricane for a reason. I know that they're only joking, but I'm concerned by the nonchalant attitudes and that most of these individuals aren't preparing for the worst in case it happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.