a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Goodnight Irene!

The hurricane started really affecting us around 11:00 last night. Crazy winds, gusts of 90 m.p.h., and rain. Thankfully the rain wasn't as bad for our part of the state as was predicted but the winds were terrible.

We slept in the living room, which was tough for Jack...he had the dog and two cats constantly walking around him, and in a sleeping bag which he wasn't used to. He tossed and turned, and so did I. The smoke detector went off around 4 a.m., I don't know why, but afterwards I couldn't fall asleep because I was worried about a fire.

When we looked around outside, we realized that the top half of one of the huge pines had snapped off next to Jacks room. It went the other direction thankfully, falling into the road. That section was about 20 feet tallWe also lost a small tree by our stone wall as well as many limbs from other trees.

One of our apple trees is tipped over, as you can see in this photo from my phone. We may be able to save it, I really hope we can!!!

Still no power, and our road is closed off due to trees blocking the road as well as downed power lines. I can't get to work tonight, although just as well. It's still VERY windy, and I don't want to drive in it.

I hope everyone made out okay!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.