Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Elmer and the great escape!

It's not been Bobby's day, he clearly wasn't feeling 100% (probably teething) and here he going in search of his mum yet again - no one else will do. How much easier it gets when they can talk and tell you what's wrong. We spent the late afternoon and early evening with them and then left at around 8pm.

The light in the house wasn't good, so I had to set the camera on a high ISO, hence the extra noise (the Panasonic sensor doesn't cope with low light/ high ISO, which will probably be one of my reasons for changing cameras when I finally get around to it).

I'm going through a spell when I've got so many images that I desperately need to sort them out. Finding the gems among all the so, so images, which are often good notebook shots but little else, is getting harder and harder to do. I must create a better indexing system!

I spent the morning trying to select images for an urban landscape competition and as I've set myself the challenge of using only recent images I feel that I'm scraping the barrel - perhaps it's not really my thing. There's also a local (Thurgoland) calendar competition that I have been asked to submit some images for by the 1st September, our own club is asking for more images for the Penistone calendar and if I order my prints from Photobox (for the next Penistone CC competition) by 1st Sept I can get a significant saving.

I also need to plant up the strawberry runners (a bit late really) and weed some more on the allotment! All this means that my artistic printmaking has come to a halt. I shouldn't winge though - just think of all the time I'm going to have from now on!

As far as photography is concerned I'm currently trying to work out what kind of image is my thing. Here are two website galleries from other people that I really like:

Still Life

Michael Kenna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.