East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Suprise Stairway

This is taken at one of my most favourite places, Green Point, and this stairway was a wonderful suprise.
Late this afternoon (very frustrated after spending two and a half hours on the phone to 3 different people at Telstra about my email connection which wasn't working), I decided it was time to get out and about. I had not been out to this beautiful place for ages, probably over a year, as even though it is only minutes from town, it is down a dirt road and feels rather isolated. I don't like going there alone so convinced A to come with me. To my amazement I found another stairway! Previously you could only go to the top of the point and looking down all you could see was the ocean - the rest was hidden from view. Now there is this wonderful set of steps leading down to the most beautiful view and even a rock seat to sit and ponder on. And there is not only one stairway...... but that will be for another day.

I have always felt that this place had an almost spiritual feel to it. National Parks have now also put in a small information board and it explains how the Goorie (Aboriginal people) have inhabited this area for thousands of years. What I didn't know until today is that Green Point was one of the Tribal Gathering places where the tribes would gather. When the food was plentiful the local Yaegl people would invite the other tribes to gather here and they would camp here with their own clans for weeks or months depending on the availability of food.

It is a very special place and it has many different angles to photograph from, so I will definately be blipping more from here.

PS - you can see Yamba on the point in the background and the cordoned off area you can see is for bush regeneration.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.