Capital adventures

By marchmont

Urban Tomato

I've been looking enviously at the autumnal offerings from fellow blippers in France like SooB and chaiselongue - plump tomatoes, sun-ripened peppers, all ensuring that the heat of the summer extends into the depths of winter. Here is an offering from closer to home, the top floor landing in fact. My young neighbour, 7 year old A, has been growing tomatoes and various herbs in the greenhouse like atmosphere under our glass cupola. I've been helping, a little, with the watering and feeding and I have been rewarded with a cherry tomato. Not a huge crop but one that I hope gives A a love of gardening and the joy of growing her own fruit and veg. Who knows what we might achieve next year, strawberries cascading over the balustrade, runner beans up the gas pipe?

Meanwhile I am struggling with the after effects of having woken at 4 a.m., fearful of a visit to the periodontist. Almost 5 years ago I told my 'other half' that one day I would lose all my teeth and he wouldn't love me any more. He laughed and said 'don't be silly, I'll always love you.' One of these statements is untrue - I still have teeth. Today the lovely Dr C (Italian!!) put me at ease and we had a good chat, he even made me laugh, although not at the cost of the investment I am probably about to make.

Elsewhere: finally made it up to Warrender for a 30 minute swim, there was more tea, discovered Loudon's (but I must, having stood on the scales this morning either undiscover it again, or swim all day), realised that an investment in a different place had gone seriously pear-shaped through lack of attention, joined 'the Cameo' and the curtain lady knocked over the sunflower vase. The vase and flowers survived but the floor boards have not enjoyed their impromptu soaking - luckily the carpet will take care of that.

Quiet night in to-night, 'Who Do You Think You Are?'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.