an image of teamdel

By teamdel

They end the day on top, again

I was simply not prepared for todays afternoon of Daddy Day. I put this ill preparation down to Baby deciding that he had to be ill and then sleep on me early this morning. At the time I thought this a compliment and accepted the company. Now I know it to be the startings of my downfall today.

Yes you can say he is only one, he doesn't think like that, but I can say his early morning warmth was clearly a rouse to ensure I did not get enough sleep and therefore did not properly wake up today to prepare for the the little tag team v daddy action that was to unfold.

Firstly I completely forgot to eat before nursery collection. I also forgot to increase the nappy and underpant supply. I realised these things just before pick up but decided to crack on and collected both little ones with ease. No sooner were we out of the teachers ear shot did battle commence. Baby started with a high pitch noise that simply did not stop. He needed to sleep but Toddler refused to hold a stedy enough pace to get him off and then walked into something hard and so she joined in the high pitch noise.

So no sooner had we headed out were we heading home to a soundtrack that made dance music acceptable. After about half a mile Baby was asleep and I took stock and decided not to abort but instead try and rerun the fun. I called into the cavaly (Wife) to vent.

So a bit later than planned we were at the libary. Toddler had a pile of books and I nursed a coffee. This seemed fine until Baby awoke with the high pitched noise again. He did not want food or drink or cuddles or changing. Just after I threw Toddlers doll across some seating looking for a drink in the buggy for Baby did I notice the libary of people all watching me with intent.

So we scarperred, though with Toddlers lack of pace it was more of an amble than a quick getaway. So there we were all moaning,, me about Baby's cries and Toddlers lack of speed, Toddler about the pace of movement and Baby about god knows what. The upset continued all the way to the common. I thought maybe Baby needed more sleep and so we circled the skatepark a few times (possibly lapping Toddler). It was at this point I put in call number two to the cavalry.

On lap three we stopped to watch another parent trying to sleep on a bench by their buggy when Toddler announced the need for an orange juice. So all moaning we went for refreshments. Toddler let Baby have some juice at which point he stopped crying and started smiling.

All that for some orange juice, surely not. Either way I did look a bit of a fraud as Wife arrived to help me with two happy children. Little Tag team (another) one, Daddy nil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.