Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Frosty 'Fridge'

Today I defrosted the fridge. It took a total of 8 hours, and this picture was taken 3 hours into the process! The grey thing on top of the upturned red bucket is a small fan heater, which was speeding up the process! The towels are my swimming towels, which I figured I might as well use since they were going to get washed anyway.

Yes, it was VERY frosted up. Since I've spent the last 2 years too ill even to contemplate such jobs, they have been very neglected, and the icebox was, quite literally, FULL of ice and frozen shut with ice cube trays, wine cooling jacket, and some little plastic dolphins that you put in drinks frozen solid into them!

So, yesterday was a day of rest, and today was a day of action. 50 lengths of the swimming pool, starting the defrosting, fairly good clean of the rat cage (they'd been partying overnight), printing off the jobs list from yesterday's blip and gathering up all the bits of paper onto which I'd written things to do, laundry, completing the research questionnaire left by the blood-taking girl the other day (allegedly it should have taken 45-60 minutes - it took me 15, but then I am quite a fast reader), updating the calendars, and mowing the lawns.

The activity stopped briefly this afternoon after I had an e-mail update from FiL, confirming that MiL is indeed very poorly. I paused briefly to take in the news & psych myself up for Wonderspouse support duties. I also called my Mum to update her.

Then it was back to the fridge, which is now finished, sparkling clean, and has plenty of wine in it for later!

I still have to do my accounts, which will require the usual amount of brain stretching and financial manipulation!

And all today, I have managed not to eat more than 2 slices of toast with a pot of fish paste!

Although I have ordered a cupcake or so from The Baking Bird to arrive next week - feeling in need of a little treat!

Still haven't sorted the car, which is still tied up with string.

Thankful for the extension on the maths assignment.

One bit of surprising news is that last night I started flump0phoning again. I also started to polish the flumpophone, gave him some new valve oil, and sorted all his music out! Very therapeutic - nothing like a bit of flumping!

I also had cause to do a blipfoto search on the word "flumpophone". Almost all the entries are mine! ;-)

So now I really should try to do the accounts, or at least make a start.

Oh, and while we're on the subject of fridges, I shall quote the two quotes I have typed and laminated and stuck to the outside of one of ours:

Dirk cheerfully threw open the door to the new fridge and was delighted to find it completely and utterly empty. Its inner light shone on perfectly clean blue and white walls and on gleaming chrome shelves. He liked it so much that he instantly determined to keep it like that. He would put nothing in it at all. His food would just have to go off in plain view.

Arthur almost danced to the fridge, found the three least hairy things in it, put them on a plate and watched them intently for two minutes. Since they made no attempt to move within that time he called them breakfast and ate them. Between them they killed a virulent space disease he'd picked up without knowing it in the Flargathon Gas Swamps a few days earlier, which otherwise would have killed off half the population of the Western Hemisphere, blinded the other half and driven everyone else psychotic and sterile, so the Earth was lucky there.


I'm just a tiny bit proud of myself that I copy-typed both those extracts very quickly, with only one error! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.