Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Hot Coals

Yesterday was trial by ice! Today was trial by fire!

A busy morning of admin this morning. Bank accounts (left over from yesterday), student loan deferral, blog related stuff, booking Smudge in for her booster jabs, and so on and so on and so on! Seems so little when I write it down like that, but I was working solid from 7.20 until I left the house at 2.20, and I crossed everything off my today's jobs list and cleared a huge pile of stuff from my in-tray, so I must have been busy!

This afternoon I went over to Scharwenka's where Mrs Scharwenka had decided to have a barbecue. I took a photo of the hot coals, nearly singeing my eyebrows in the process - it was jolly hot, as hot as the icebox was cold yesterday!

Shortly after I took this picture, Mrs Scharwenka cooked sausages, merguez, and bits of pork on the barbecue, which we ate with homemade bread and a little beer and wine. Then Scharwenka made banana, ice cream, sesame biscuit and cinnamon puddings! Yummy! It was all rather idyllic and summery - a lovely summer day at the start of autumn!

After the barbecue Scharwenka and I discussed cars and decided that the temporary mend was good enough for the time being - we're reluctant to spend any more money on the car, since it probably won't go for another year - it is 10 years old and has done 116,000 miles, so it's really not going to last for ever. We're going to check it again next week to make sure the mend is holding and do another one if necessary.

Then the Wonderspouse arrived, we went shopping, and finally got home shortly after 9.00. Now time for supper, bath and bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.