Party Animal

Went round to a party at S's flat on the south side of Edinburgh in the evening. Scene of one of my favourite portraits from my Homecoming project for my HND1 major project. Although I took a couple of quick snaps on the way, I thought I'd probably get something better when I was there, or even on the way home, if it wasn't too late. Well, we left after 1am, so the journey-home blip was ruled out. Fortunately I'd spent a few minutes prowling round looking for blippable subjects at one point in the evening. Several of the people at the party are followers of my blips so I wasn't regarded as too much of a wierdo. Did consider using a picture of M's dreamcatcher, hanging from the light in her room, but went for this guy in the end, a coconut elephant that caught my eye.

Interestingly having posted this I noticed that the year ago image was taken outside the Edward Weston exhibition at the City Arts Centre. Interesting because last night at the party I was telling C about the 'desert island pictures' we did in M's class at college towards the end of the year. Weston's Pepper No. 30 was one of the five I picked. Last night I couldn't remember all five. I did know I had chosen Bremner and Mackay squaring up to each other on the pitch - the epitome of sport as theatre. And Earth Rising, as seen from the moon. With the two different orientations of the image. But I couldn't be sure of the other two. As it turns out I was right about Steichen's Louise Brooks, a timeless image that could have been taken yesterday. Leaving one of Georg Gerster's fabulous Swissair aerial pictures - a village in West Africa - to complete the five.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.