Jon's Page

By Jon_Davey

Peppers

No photos allowed inside (understandably) so a shot outside the City Art Centre where there is currently an exhibition of the work of Edward Weston. Great to see his work, especially of course the peppers that we all sought to emulate on the HND.

Pepper No. 30 1930
"The glorious new pepper Sonya brought me has kept me keyed up all week and caused me to expose eight negatives; I'm not satisfied yet! But the pepper is well worth all time, money, effort. If peppers would not wither I certainly would not have attempted this one when so preoccupied. I must get this one today: it is beginning to show the strain and tomorrow should grace a salad" Day Books 2 Edward Weston

He was worried about eight negatives ! How many pictures do we take today without evening thinking? And I love the thought that this pepper, so famous even eighty years later, still ended up in a salad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.