Dolcezza Della Vita

By Dolcezza

My version of ugly...

There is so much that I love about Albuquerque...one of the things, amazing food!! While visiting the past few times, I've developed a new addiction...the Ugly Muffin from Flying Star! Scroll all the way down to the bottom for the shot...I had the muffin 3x last time I was in town - its so freaking good! Goes perfect with a fruit plate and a glass of refreshing E-Tea ;)

So desperate to satisfy a craving, I decided to experiment a little in the kitchen...I think I got it "almost" right, but not quite...missing a few things...but getting closer...I may need more honey. If anyone has the recipe...I will pay for it!!!!

Here is my recipe...

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup multigrain oats
1 1/3 cups oat bran
1 teasp baking powder
1 teasp baking soda
1/2 teasp salt

1 teasp fresh grated ginger root
1/4 cup applesauce
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup soy milk
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1 egg - beaten

1/2 cup cranberries
1/2 cup walnuts
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix flour, bran, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl mix applesauce, honey, ginger, milk, yogurt, eggs - fold into dry mix. Add in cranberries, walnuts, and seeds.

Pour into muffin wraps (all the way to the top) and bake for 25 mins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.