Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Kokopelli

This is one of my kokopelli. I think I have three.

Kokopelli is a fertility deity, usually depicted as a humpbacked flute player (often with a huge phallus and feathers or antenna-like protrusions on his head), who has been venerated by some Native American cultures in the Southwestern United States.

Like most fertility deities, Kokopelli presides over both childbirth and agriculture. He is also a trickster god and represents the spirit of music.

Kokopelli is one of the most easily recognized figures found in the pictographs of the Southwest. The earliest known figure dates to about A.D. 1000.

Kokopelli was one of several kachina dolls sold to tourists. The Spanish missionaries in the area convinced the Hopi craftsmen to omit the phallus from their representations of the figure.

Most people I know have a representation of a kokopelli of some sort in their homes around here.

One of mine hangs over my toilet. I don't know what possessed me to do that. Maybe I should move it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.