The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Blippin' Mad!

Once upon a time I was quite sensible.

I would go out with my camera. Take some pictures and put them up on my Flickr site.

And then, just over a year ago I discovered Blipfoto.com, thanks to JerryWSL.

To start of with all was fine. Take a photo with your iPhone, upload it later in the evening with a few lines of commentary. But then the BlipBug took hold, and just before 200 blips I started to take things a little more seriously!

And now today I fear we have reached a tipping point!

You know you have gone slightly blippin' mad when you have just taken 137 photographs of a Large Red Slug.

Not only that, but you spend time getting the lighting right and get a reflector out to get a bit of under lighting. And just when you thought you descent into madness wasn't quite complete, you start thinking: "How can I make this slug look more creative ...".

You then place said Slug (christened Sid by the way - I do like to anthropomorphisise my subjects!) on a handy prop .. in this case a watering can head, and you bring the whole thing in to the kitchen table so now you can control the lighting conditions! Ah-ha!!!

Now all you have to do is play with the depth of field and ISO settings, and wait for Sid to pull a suitable pose, and start snapping away.

I stopped short of saying; "I want you to pout! Show me your angst!"

When the session was over. I released Sid back into the garden, and gave him a peanut for his efforts! (Insert your own joke here)

It's not the first time I have taken pictures of a slug on here either! Oh no! I took one just over a year ago. I think you will agree, my slug photography has come on leaps and, erm, slithers, during the interim period!

If you would like to see Sid in glorious Technicolour .. please feel free to click the links below!

Sid The Slug Looking Sultry

Sid The Slug Relaxing

What passes as normal service will resume tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.