The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

First Winter Coat

One of the blips I have been wanting to tick for a while ticked off!

I have been wanting to get a photo of this years brood of Starlings in their new jackets for a while now.

I absolutely adore the way the chestnut of the head clashes, and matches the speckled breast and rainbow colours that you see in the more adult birds.

Anyone who thinks Starlings are nuisance need their heads examined in my book! They are one of the most charismatic birds that visit the garden. They are always squabbling, they always come in a group, and they make fantastic parents.

It is that time of year again, when you need to go and find out where your nearest Starling Murmuration is happening. I will certainly be going back down to Newport Wetlands again, last year I saw some spectacular murmurs. I will be down in North Norfolk/ Suffolk on Honeymoon at the right time as well. It was one of the highlights of the year for me last year, and it one of natures best shows!

Other shots I got from the Garden Hide.

Robin In The Brambles

Baby Bullfinch

Another view of the Starling

Anyone know the collective noun for Greenfinches

Thank you for all the stars, hearts and comments on yesterdays Spotlighted blip!

I have not seen much of Sid today. I heard his new found fame has gone to his head. He may have moved to the posh end of the garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.