The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Hey You! Get Off-a My Pond ...

(with apologies to Mick Jagger!)

What a glorious day. Me and Dawn decided to go to Slimbridge today. Dawn wanted a tutorial on photography. So I gave her the old Sony Alpha 200 and the 300mm zoom and explained how all the theory of depth of field worked, as well as the cameras various functions for focusing and light metering. I must admit she threw herself into it, and was prostrate on the floor taking ground level photos of the Nenes at several points of the day. I got one using my iPhone! ;o)

I was spoilt for choice for what to blip for this entry, but settled on this entry as it's full of so much action. I could have gone for another Black Headed Gull photo which I took at the other end of the day. I also got a nice year and life tick in the shape of this Green Sandpiper. Or this Greylag Flypast ... I like the others looking on in the background. There's plenty more to look at in the Slimbridge 2012 Flickr Set.

It was one of my best visits to Slimbridge, with some stunning light to take photos in, and a wonderful day out with my wonderful wife. The next time I will visit Slimbridge the swans will be back .... autumn is coming!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.