Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Research Project!!!

Well, that's the official story anyway - absolutely no pleasure will be involved whatsoever - it's all work! HONEST!!!! ;-)

OK, who AM I trying to kid? My real reaction as I opened the lid to this box of treasures was "OH WOW!" as my eyes lit up! The Wonderspouse and I are just home (shortly after 9pm) and he has had a similar reaction too - with the request "Please can I definitely try a bit of each one?"

Since my brain is running out of firepower and if I don't tell you about the rest of the day soon I'll just end up in some sort of crazy cake-adoring stupor and be unable to speak (or type)!

So, it was back to work today. I started the day with 40 lengths of the pool - it was jolly cold and windy, although the pool itself was nice and warm. I then came home and started writing up all the maths work I've been doing over the last week, pausing only to prevent my writing hand from getting completely worn out.

The plan for the day was to keep working on the assignment and get as much as I could done while I had to stay in to wait for the cakes. I'd then go to Scharwenka's and pick him up and we'd go to deliver the assignment to my tutor's house before I met the Wonderspouse after he'd been talking poetry with some of his writer friends.

When Scharwenka & I touched base by phone at lunchtime the cakes still hadn't arrived, and he said to me that if he was me, he'd just keep working on the assignment.

So I did. Altogether I worked from 8 am, stopping only for a slice of toast and fish paste mid-morning, then again to clean the cage & play with the boys for a few minutes at lunchtime. At around 4 pm I decided that I'd done all the work I was going to do on the assignment (which turned out to be quite a lot), and started to photocopy my work (I always do this after a tutor lost some of my work when I was doing my first undergrad degree many many years ago). The photocopier ran out of ink, so I did more injecting of ink into the cartridge and carried on.

Then, around 4.30, I'd JUST put the last sheet of assignment into the photocopier when I glanced out of the window, and saw a man in a courier van arriving outside the house - WITH CAKES!

I swear it was like someone was watching me. Somebody somewhere had decided I couldn't have my cakes until I'd finished my maths assignment!!! I don't actually believe ANYTHING like this, being a hardened cynic, but it was seriously uncanny!

Then I took the box up to the bedroom (safe, cat-free room) and opened it up to find the delights within! I'm pretty impressed with how well they've travelled all the way from Cornwall - just a few bits of icing that have had little adventures. And they look SO GOOD!

I then had to leave them in order to drive my assignment to its destination. Assignment safely delivered, I had tea with Scharwenka and Mrs Scharwenka, then the Wonderspouse arrived and we came home!

Now all that remains is to eat supper (pizza), and then start the cake tasting!!! HURRAH!!! All the cats are fascinated by the box, but I'm guarding it very carefully - it'll live upstairs in our bedroom when we're not around - not taking any risks with our precious cakes, which even include one with purple icing and our initials on it! :-)

Thank you so much dear Baking Bird! So much cake-filled excitement here tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.