Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Rain Refugee

The weather is beastly today, so beastly in fact that Tiggy and Smudge both spent all morning in the house with us - only Felix braved the outdoors!

While Smudge came and sat on the sofa with me while I brushed her and even cut some of the feistier knots out of her long coat (which she really struggles to groom), Tiggy did the job herself - she's an expert washer.

In the winter Tigs loves to go INSIDE this old cat bed (which used to belong to Smokey (the cat I grew up with), and then to Ebony and Ivory (who lived with my parents for many years)) but when it's warmer she likes to sit on top of it. This is her in typical Tiggy pose!

As for the humans, the last lie-in of the holiday was this morning, ended, as usual, by Smudge hurling herself at the bedroom door. After breakfast I spent some time on the phone to the Open University, sorting out fees, things that appear on my student home page, and so on and so on. I then attended to the downstairs printer, which had run out of black ink. I refilled the cartridge - still didn't work, washed the bottom gently in hot water - still didn't work, and then blew gently into the cartridge to push the refilled ink through - worked! Hurrah!

Then I wondered whether I'd manage to get any more maths done at all, since I felt so tired. However, after a monster fishfinger sandwich for lunch, I felt fortified, so the rest of the day will be devoted to doing as much as I can on the assignment. I feel as though a distinction may be just out of reach, but as long as I get the next grade down I'll be happy. Might as well do the best I can on this assignment anyway - I'm not the "giving up" type.

Anyway, back to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.