Today I will mostly be ..

By Moorestone

... Recovering from finishing work at 4am

I'm not a night owl, even as a stroppy teenager I liked to be in bed by midnight. So night shoots, whilst worth the pay, are one of my least favourite shooting scenarios. The others being Eastenders on the back lot in winter when you have to pretend it's spring, anything involving fake rain (they put milk in it to make it show up on camera, yuk!) and commercials where you have to eat the food being advertised.

Now some people might think I'm picky, especially regarding free food in adverts, but experience has taught me that eating 21 Kelloggs chocolate fruit and fibre bars not only equates to 2310 calories in one day, but also a second very unpleasant bathroom based day.

So night shoots ... The strange think about working at night when you aren't used to it, is the way it confuses your body clock. To try and alleviate this on set, when you arrive at 5pm in the afternoon you are presented with a full English breakfast. I'm a fan of the full and would never turn it down, but then at around midnight you find yourself sitting down to a proper dinner with a school dinner style pudding. So now at 6pm the following day, I'm craving a full English again. Damn you night shooting !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.