Guess where I've been?

Aye, I might have mentioned, just in passing, a current interest in cycling. Nothing grand or life changing. Just a slight piquing. No? Oh, I must fill you in ...

Anyway, I noticed today that when I woke and got up and went, as I usually do, and looked out of the window, that it was dark, the sky black, and it was raining. Not so long ago, just when I was on the point of being scunnered with cycling into Edinburgh, the pissing rain would have gladdened my heart since I had a policy of not setting off to cycle in the rain. It was one thing to be caught in the rain once you were out. That was unavoidable and an occupational hazard, so to speak. It was quite another to actually go out in the rain. It was the sure sign of a mad man to do that. So heavy rain meant no cycling and then that was a good thing. Today, I thought to myself, ach it'll maybe not be raining by the time I get to the park and ride. Mad man. It was. Although I reckon I got no wetter than I would have done walking between the car park at the station and the platform and between Haymarket and the office. My feet got soaked from the spray from the wheels and mud guard. Should have worn my GoreTex socks or my GoreTex boots.

At lunchtime I took my camera for a wee wander around Stockbridge. I had to go to Ronde anyway to pick up a bike mount for my doofer so I can move it between any of the bikes. Instead of wandering, I sat with a coffee reading Bradley Wiggins' book about the Tour, with lots of nice B&W photos. I thought about buying it and then I thought I could make a habit of wandering down there for a coffee and just work my way through it for free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.