Instography

By Instography

On a break - Hubert

I was looking for a particular view of one of the lanes that branch off Thistle Street and Hill Street. One I'd photographed before and, nearing the end of my lunchtime walk, a slightly desperate withdrawal from the Bank of Blip having missed out on a decent morning stroll because the 6.42 bus decided to come at 6.38, passing the house just as I was walking down the path. Lunchtimes are never that productive. A sunny day makes the lighting harsh and the walking unpleasant.

Anyhow, this was the wrong lane - SW Thistle Street Lane - rather than Hill Street Lane South. Hubert (with strong French accent) was sitting just as you see him, at the back door of Cafe Rouge talking on his phone and having his cigarette. I noticed him, looked up the lane, realised it was the wrong one and turned back. Immediately I started kicking myself. He looked great. I should have asked. I need to get over this and just ask. The worst he could say was no. I walked for a couple of minutes before turning back, waiting while he paused in his call and asked. Of course, he said yes. I gave him a card so if he sees this, cheers Hubert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.