Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Tropical Paradise?

Well not really, but after all the rotten weather we have had and is forecast for next few days, I thought I should blip something bright and sunny.
This is a Cordyline Australis or New Zealand Cabbage Palm (at least I think it is) that grows in our garden. As children we always referred to them as Palm Trees, but from what I can find out this is not really the case. The name seems to have been adopted simply because they look like palm trees. The climate in the west coast of Scotland , with the influence of the Gulf Stream, appears to suit these plants/trees and they are quite common in the area. Unfortunately, the severe winters of the last two years have taken their toll with many dying in the sub zero temperatures.
The good news is this plant has two new shoots coming from the base of it, which will hopefully grow to the same height (10feet). I have also planted two young palms to help make up for some of those lost in the village.
Sitting on my deckchair under the Palm looking at the blue sunny sky I could be forgiven for thinking I was on a tropical island!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.