Notsonormallife

By notsonormallife

America, I salute you!

A lot of people will be posting their thoughts on the Tragedy of 9/11 which happened ten years ago today.. I wasn't planning on doing so, in fact yesterday I teased to blip about how my family fit into my not so normal life. Yet upon watching the show on the History channel where it showed events in real time, it brought me to tears watching it with my dad.

I did not know anyone who passed on that day, I don't know how I would have felt if they were. What i do know is at the time I was only 16, seeing that sort of image on my tv in a real life setting was very shocking. It's only really in the past few years that you realise how much of an affect that day had on the world. For the past few years I have been 'fascinated' by those events. Fascinated that how can something so tragic have happened, fascinated that people can believe America's own government could be behind it. With all the documentarys that have been on I have seen many pieces of footage & heard many stories. It's made me realise there has been one thing I haven't been fascinated on, & that's the people of 9/11. Those that passed, those that survived, those that went into the buildings to help others survive, those who lost their lives helping others to survive. The people of New York City showed how to react after a tragedy. They held strong, they made sure that the rest of the world knew they would carry on. This also why I changed my mind about what pic I used today (I'm cheating by using a screen grab but I feel I will be forgiven) instead of showing a picture of the tragedy itself, which people have seen loads of already, I will show this picture I saw on twitter of the twin tower tribute. We can't fixate on the tragedy, we need to focus on the healing & celebrate the good work people did that day to save so many. The loss of over 3'000 was tragic, but the loss of more was a possibility, & I salute to those neighbours over the pond who did anything to help on that fateful day.

America I salute you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.