One of five a day

By KiloRomeo

Damage Control

It was just after 6 PM when my phone rang. Friends of mine had had an emergency in their house. A cabinet in the bathroom had come off the wall and landed on the toilet cistern which broke and emptied itself. Most of you can visualise what happens when the water in the cistern drops. By the time I arrived some 30 minutes later they had had the presence of mind to post their diligent son on site to hold up the float valve. Bless him...full marks for that. Even then the upstairs bathroom was completely soaked and the dining room ceiling directly downstairs was dripping wet. Oh dear! After stopping the water supply, I drilled holes in the downstairs ceiling to let the trapped water out. The insurance people should be out in the next few days, but what an evening! Distressing, because I have renovated the very house in my spare time, plumbing, tiling, flooring, the lot, not that long back.

Not even a remote chance of an outdoor blip. So then... here is a marine barometer, made by Garrard, The Crown Jewellers, of Regent Street, London. It has a matching clock. Both have lovely porthole catches and are mounted on a single plaque. Still in their box, they are waiting for a place on the wall for many months now, since I won them on an e-bay auction. Oh ...and the barometer says the weather is getting better.

No processing whatsoever, just straight off the camera, because I am a bit 'done'. Thank you for coming around to say your bit. If you haven't heard from me today, I'd give it until tomorrow... Hope you all are having a better week than I :))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.