My Angle

By myangle

Earl Grey

Tonight my Land Rover, Earl Grey has started his journey to Stanthorpe where he will be stored and used until I have time to finish restoring him. As far as old vehicles go, this one may not look real flash, but as far as the engine, gearbox ad drive train go it is in very good condition.

I got Earl Grey more than 2 years ago. My plan was to restore him enough to take to my freind Ken's place in Stanthorpe. Two years later I have managed to achieve my goal, sort of. Now I am a bit sad to see him go. Ken has suggested that I can continue with my rebuild project at any time. True. What I have done so far is no small achievment. Water pump, brakes, clutch and many other small cosmetic adjustments. Everthing has been kept original and the engine runs really well.

I am quite pleased. Australians aren't that fond of Land Rovers. They prefer the big 6 and V8's that cope with the long distances better. This vehicle which came off the production line in 1966 and is older than me has outlasted a lot of those newer four wheel drives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.