The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Light and shadows

The Japanese Anemones are the only flowers in my Dad's back garden but for a few straggly, underwatered Petunias. The Anemones weren't planted either, they sneaked under the fence from next door and are making a fine showing in this sunny spot.

It was a busy day. I went for a walk in the New Forest first thing, a circuit of a couple of miles from Fritham. I was tempted to blip a photo of a pair of ravens in coordinated aerobatic flight overhead, but the photos are distant and blurry. Shame, it was a good show by a pair of birds who to my anthropormorphic eyes appeared to take real joy in flight, at times virtually locked together, flying upside down and doing rolls, all the while cronking away.

Later we took Dad for the first of his hospital appointments this week. It was a peculiarly pointless visit, that could so much more conveniently have been done over the phone. No examination, just a run through of the results of tests the previous week - that had already been explained to him once.

In the evening Wifie and I went to see Jane Eyre at the multiplex in Southampton. Beautifully filmed, full of bleak moorland landscapes with lonely buildings, well scripted, cast and acted. I am reasonably well-read, but amazingly perhaps I was totally unfamiliar with the story. So I had no expectations to be dashed, maybe - though the reviews have been good and Wifie enjoyed it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.