The road to Darfield

Friday is a short day and for once I got away on time.

Out to the hunters, a quick catch up and then out to the small town of Darfield. Worming tablets for the dogs, lamb feed milk powder for the soon to be born puppies and new gumboots for me.

My gumboots leaked in the snow and I haven't had a pair since. I was happy with a pair of Red Bands (iconic according to Skellerup). But the hunter tells me they're no good and .... actually, I won't repeat what he next said ;-)

I ended up with a pair of Ashley's, the most expensive pair of gumboots I've owned. "You'll wear them for 10 years" the hunter said. Having convinced me of the rightness of Ashley gumboots he threw in a 3 pack of Norsewood high country socks. What a guy. The Ashleys can wait for another blip when they're less clean.

I wonder how many fault lines lie beneath the road to Darfield and beyond? On second thoughts I might not wonder that thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.