Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

If Dandelions Were...

"If dandelions were hard to grow, they would be most welcome on any lawn.

- Andrew V. Mason


Massive outdoor/garden day today. A bit more work on the kids' clearing, mowed lots (very lots) of lawn, and then attacked the fence that was dividing the top lawn from the ones further back. Its main effect was to make it all look smaller; for a while now the kids have been able to go over or under the gate, so it's no longer relevant in terms of keeping them out of the bush - so I decided to rip it out.

Before I started on the fence, I decided it would be a good time to ring my grandmother back in NZ. Being her mid-afternoon I figured she'd probably be up to a brief chat. However, my sister answered the phone, sounding rather sad and stressed. Turns out my grandmother, who's not been *at all* well, has had an absolutely awful day, and has been busily taking "last looks" around her garden. I spoke to her very briefly, but she wasn't even up to staying on the phone and listening (let alone saying anything herself).

So I went out and lost myself in physical labour for a few hours. Got the damn fence down, except for a couple of posts. Now the backyard looks way bigger.

Earlier on my son had come running up, telling me he had presents for his mother and me - and he gave me one of the dandelions he was clutching. - And here it is. No processing on this one.

Lumix DMC-G10 : f/5.60 : 1/249" : 42mm : ISO 100

Large version here.

Uploaded with Blipfoto iPhone app

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.