Crofting Fields

Well this is a first, and will probably be a last! The poor weather has kept us indoors today, apart from a shopping trip to Kyle and a bacon butty at Sheila's Cafe in Balmacara Square. I thought I would take a look at the Photoshop help on HDR but struggled with an over enthusiastic You Tube video, then some technical instructions, none of which I understood. Anyway I ventured out in front of the cottage and dutifully took several shots of the crofting fields between us and the village of Duirinish, then tried to follow the steps. The resulting file was about 140,000kb, did not look anything like I thought it might and was not in JPEG format (now stop laughing you tekkies!) I'm not sure what I did next apart from I changed it to 16-bit (?) and then responded yes to the merge prompt, then fooled around with various sliders.

I've now gone one stage further and changed it to black and white (!) You can see the detail better in large.

Oddly, the coloured blip resembles the paintings produced by the Belgian artist (Vera Naessens) in the tiny cottage gallery in the village, several of which are on the cottage walls. When I first went in there hunting postcards, several years ago, I asked her how she had first come to Duirinish. She replied, 'It found me.' It's that kind of place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.