Storm clouds over Skye

Tony and I took a bit of a gamble today because the weather is not looking too good up here for the final few days of our holiday. We decided to head across to Skye and take the ferry from Sconser to the island of Raasay and walk up to the extinct volcano of Dun Caan which we have viewed, on a clear day, from different viewpoints on our travels. The gamble paid off. The skies over Skye have been gloomy all day and it poured on us as we left the ferry at the start of our walk, forcing us to take shelter in a very nice cafe to look at the map and wait for the shower to pass. We had a couple of occasions where we had to don the waterproofs during the remainder of the walk, but generally it was dry if rather blustery.

The views from the summit of Dun Caan were super although holding the camera still was problematic. Tony found shelter over the edge of the hill but that was a bit scary for me as the face of Dun Caan fell away sharply on that side, so I found a large rock to snack behind and blip from before we began our descent. Once again I have struggled to decide between blips and so Tony has made the final decision of this one. I think I preferred to be on Raasay rather than Skye today as the minute we stepped off the ferry to head to the car, the heavens opened and have barely stopped since!

As with all my recent blips, looking at them in large is probably the best. If you would like to see what Dun Caan looks like, take a look at the end of my holiday blips here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.