Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Monday afternoon out

Having worked quite hard on household chores this morning we headed to Wakefield to have a look at the members exhibition at The Art House, where I had a print displayed. We found it a little disappointing as the work was displayed in the entrance, the corridors and a locked meeting room. I'd expected a dedicated exhibition space!

I hardly visit Wakefield now, but it WAS a city I knew well as, in a previous life, I ran the Urban Studies Centre in the city. So it was good to see the familiar, as in today's blip and to be shocked at some of the changes that have been made around the Elizabethan School which is by far the oldest building in Wakefield. Why the city's rugby team, Wakefield Wildcats, have their sales outlet despoiling the façade of this historic building I can't imagine. There are so many empty shops in the city at the moment that I'm sure they could have been offered one of these by the council at a much reduced rate. This ancient building is now surrounded by the newly constructed market on one side and a brand new shopping centre on the other (why do these all look the same!)

I have to confess that we didn't shop but took photos instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.