Combatting dementia

I'm not one for blipping politicians and such like but I'll make an exception today. I was invited in a professional capacity to the launch of the Dementia Research Centre, a partnership of the University of Edinburgh and Alzheimer Scotland. As someone whose family history has been scarred by the effects of dementia (mother, aunt, grandmother), I have a more than professional interest in seeing Alzheimer's taken very seriously. It's particularly poignant because we heard last Thursday that my aunt, who has lived for many years in the US, had died, and today is World Alzheimer's Day.

On the subject of politicians, I'll just say that the Deputy First Minister spoke effectively and with passion about the scourge of Alzheimer's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.