Kevin McCloud in Stroud

I was invited to a small reception tonight at Ecotricity's head-quarters here in Stroud, which they were hosting. It was to publicise the work of HAB Oakus who are a joint enterprise preparing to regenerate a disused hospital site in Stroud. Kevin McCloud's company are initiating the project.

Ecotricity have been offering their foyer as an exhibition space for various local groups who have been involved in the recent Eco-homes festival here, which I have blipped about before. The festival was organised by Transition Stroud who are a prominent, committed and very active local group.

I was here as a local resident who is interested in this innovative housing venture, which I am going to follow with interest. I did declare when I arrived that I was also a town councillor, as well as a local photographer, and then asked permission to take photographs. After checking, I was told that was fine, so I milled about whilst also trying to use three varied lenses to get the best results under the very harsh fluorescent industrial lighting.

Eventually Kevin McCloud gave a short talk and was delightful; funny, sensitive, committed to principles and very warm. I took quite a few pictures of him and others. He spent a long time with a young girl who was obviously very excited to meet him, treating her very specially, as I would have hoped. I would have blipped a picture of them, but I hadn't asked her and her mother for their permission. I must remember in future, as I knew it was a good picture.

I had to choose between five pictures here. I am disappointed with my overall choice of how to shoot there and now the image is rather grainy. I have pictures of him smiling, listening, talking and speaking to the audience. But this picture of him laughing very naturally is my choice tonight. Tomorrow I might have chosen another.

Mid-way through the evening, a woman came up to me and asked if they could use some of my pictures for their promotional needs. She said she has worked with Kevin for fourteen years and was the woman who had given permission for me to take pictures. She was as delightful as Kevin and I enjoyed our chat that followed.

I also met up again with Jessie and Carlo, who are the founders of the Bee Guardian Foundation, who the town council helped to get established. Stroud is the very first Bee Guardian Town of which we are really proud. My best picture tonight was of them. I told Carlo about Blipfoto, as he seemed interested in photography, so they might be watching this space. I would just like to say what a great job they have done in following their passion, allowing others to discover theirs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.