Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Tell it to the paw...

... cuz the face ain't listenin'...

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1421942]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Really really not much editing at all though the 'after' is markedly different from the 'before'. With the RAW file, I boosted the exposure by about +60 and the same with brightness too. I also dropped the blacks down to about +3 as it was all a bit too heavy and dark in the original. Which is ironic given that I then opened it in Photoshop and used Silver Efex Pro to give it a high contrast b&w conversion!

After converting it to black and white, I created a new layer and set it to overlay blend mode with a 50% neutral grey fill so that I could dodge and burn the image just a bit. For example, using a 10% opacity white brush, I dodged the paw ever so slightly so it stood out a bit more, then some areas around the cat's face. Final bit of sharpening, then flattened and saved.

All done!

Tip of the Day:
This is quite nerdy, but I do like this article on '13 Things your camera wishes you knew' actually contains some really decent advice. With photography I have to say that I'm not all about the tech by any means... but I do believe that a good understanding of at least the basics means that you don't have to think about it much when you come to 'seeing' images. It just happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.