Post-ex 20: Rats!

This was so much the view I had today that I thought I'd try to photograph it. I will try again another day and see if I can't improve on this!

Identifying some of the small mammal bones from the site; these are two Black Rat (Rattus rattus) mandibles...you may just be able to make out the fact that the teeth are more heavily worn on one specimen than on the other.

That's the sort of thing I have to record, in case anyone ever has an interest in rat age profiles in post-Mediaeval Scottish cities. One day, someone will do a PhD thesis on it...

I mentioned an exhibition of finds a couple of days ago, and some people kindly expressed an interest...sadly, this is just a few things on a table for the interest of Princess Anne when she opens the Quad.
There will be a proper public exhibition sometime, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.