Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Just like the First of Forth...

... painting our veranda is finally done after just over a year!

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1425675]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Editing details of this mainly involve the RAW file. Without fill-in flash or other pre-shutter stuff, you can see that against the sky, Nick (my husband doing the painting!) is very dark. So, I when processing the RAW file I boosted the fill light by +85, upped the exposure by +0.40 and the clarity up by +25. This brightened it all up nicely. In Photoshop, I gave it a bit of a crop so that the diagonals across the frame worked better, i.e. you can draw a nice triangle from the bottom right corner to the paint pot and the composition worked just a bit better. I also darkened the corner in the top left as the lightness of the t-shirt distracted a little.

Finally, flattened the layers, sharpened and saved.

Tip of the Day:
I've mentioned fill light, exposure and brightness above and knowing the difference between the three is often a bit of a blur. If you want to know, then this article might help a bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.